top of page


25 January 2022 – Today Mr. Mulualem Syoum, Founder and CEO of the AeTrade Group announced the appointment of His Excellency Hailemariam Desalegn Boshe, an eminent statesman who brings significant experience, deep knowledge of the continent, and extensive international networks globally. “It is with great excitement that we welcome His Excellency in this new role as Chairman of the board of the AeTrade Group with effect from December 2021 for a three-year term which is renewable,” said Mr. Mulualem Syoum We have benefited from his leadership and support during the foundational phase of this multifaceted Pan African organization implementing ambitious digital transformation initiatives. Given his track record as an ethical and transformational leader for Ethiopia, and also at the regional and continental level, we are confident that the organization is in capable hands.

H.E. Hailemariam Desalegn was the Executive Prime Minister of Ethiopia who served from August 2012 until April 2018. He previously occupied the positions of Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs; Minister of Social Affairs and Government Chief- Whip Minister. He was also Governor of the Southern Regional State for six years. With a Master’s degree in Water and Environmental Engineering from the Tampere University of Technology in Finland and a second Master’s in Organizational Leadership from Azusa Pacific University in California, he served in various academic and administrative capacities, including the Dean of the Water Technology Institute of Ethiopia.

After leaving office, Desalegn co-founded and is the chairperson of Hailemariam & Roman Foundation that focuses on maternal and child healthcare, prevention of non-communicable diseases, nutrition, climate-smart agriculture, and biodiversity conservation-based eco-tourism. Currently, he is serving as a board member and chairperson, vice chairperson and member of various local and international organizations such as Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA), Tourism Ethiopia, The Brenthurst Foundation, The Global Steering Committee for the Campaign for Nature, African Parks Network (APN) and African Wildlife Foundation (AWF).

The Board of Directors of the AeTrade Group currently comprises Mr. Mulualem Syoum, Mr. Getachew Engida, Dr. Amany Asfour, Mr. Mohammed Beauvougais, Mr. Marc Gauthier, Mrs. Treasure Maphanga, and Mr. Ikbal Daredia.

963 views0 comments


bottom of page